At the end of August 1995 some fanatical brass instrument players from the north of Belgian Limburg came together with the idea of setting up a brass band together. They looked around in the region and collected musicians from the Harmonie-Fanfare orchestras of, among other places, Achel, Overpelt, Lommel, Eksel and Peer. On 2 September of the same year they practised together for the first time. The band chose Eksel as their home base and the North Limburg Brass Band (NLBB) came into the world.
In its early years the band played under the musical directorship of Luc Beckers. He taught the musicians the finer points of the brass band trade and piloted the NLBB into the Belgian brass band world. He won twice with the band at the National Brass Band Championships, in the C and B sections respectively (now the 3rd and 2nd divisions). Moreover he twice captured first place at the Open Brassband Festival Friesland in Leeuwarden (Netherlands). As well as participating in numerous contests, the first annual spring concert was organised under his leadership, a concert where the NLBB presents itself to brass band lovers from the region.

At the end of August 2001, Ivan Meylemans took over the conductor’s baton from Luc. He cranked up the band’s musical ambitions and barely three months later won the top prize in the 1st division at the National Brass Band Championships in Brussels. Since that time the NLBB became a permanent fixture in the 1st division. Ivan also made regular trips abroad with the NLBB. Thus they twice took first prize at the SCABA entertainment contest in Crawley (UK) and in 2004 won the B-section of the Eurobrassfestival in Drachten (NL). The band has also been a regular guest at the Flanders Brass Band Championships in Mechelen. In 2005 the band was runner-up in the 1st division and in 2008 the NLBB players took 4th place in the championship division at the National Brass Band Championships in Brussels, the division in which they have appeared since 2007. After 5th spot in 2007, the NLBB achieved the title of vice-champion of Belgium at the national championships of 2008.

Nederlandse tekst





European Championships

2011            5e (Montreux)
2012            2e (Rotterdam)

Belgian National Championship

1996            champion in C-section
1997            champion in B-section
1998            2e in 1e division
1999            2e in 1e division
2000            2e in 1e division
2001            champion in 1e division
2002            2e in 1e division
2003            2e in 1e division
2004            2e in 1e division
2005            champion in 1e division
2006            champion in 1e division
2007            5e in Championship Section
2008            vice-champion
2009            vice-champion
2010            Belgian Champion
2011            Belgian Champion
2012            5e in Championship Section
2013            7e in Championship Section
2014            3e in Championship Section

Flemish brassbandchampionship

2005            vice-champion in 1e division
2008            4e in Championship Section
2010            4e in Championship Section

2014            2e in Championship Section

Open brassband festival Friesland

1999            champion in B-section
2000            champion in B-section

Eurobrass Drachten

2004            champion in B-group
2004            Best Solist Guy Borrenbergs
2010            3e in A-group
2004            Best trombone section

SCABA entertainment contest Crawley

2003             champion
2004             champion